A Free & Easy Christmas Book Countdown Idea

Hello friends! You may remember the last time I posted was Halloween, but this time I have the best excuse ever.

sweet smile (2)

Yes, we have a sweet new baby boy, born November 5. Joseph is the best baby ever, and we are all in love!

I want to share a great idea from a friend here. I’ve never done a Christmas countdown because I can’t stand the thought of adding more little trinkets, toys or books to our ever-growing supply (now all three of my children have birthdays from Nov.-Jan. too, so this time of year they “get” plenty). My friend had the brilliant idea to wrap Christmas books and other favorites that her child ALREADY OWNS.

We leave our holiday books out year round, but they still don’t get read very often until this time of year rolls around, so this would be the perfect way to enjoy and savor each holiday book that we love! If, like my friend, you don’t have enough holiday books to round this out, you can copy her and just wrap up some favorites that haven’t been read in awhile. Or, as you know I love the library, so why not get some great books at the library and wrap those? (Or try your neighborhood Little Free Library if you have one!)

I love free, easy, innovative ideas like this. The only thing not EASY about this–some of you have anticipated my second thought when I heard this idea–more wrapping?? {Dies a little inside} Keep reading for the easy solution.

The other thing is, it’s already December 4, and some of you weird people won’t do it because you’ve already lost 4 days so it can’t be “perfect.” Let’s totally eschew perfection because it’s not happening here or anywhere else.

As to the wrapping problem, my idea is to get a single gift bag and reuse it every day. It can even become a “thing”–Look! It’s the special plain brown bag that Mom uses to give us our special book every day! It’s all in how we spin it, right?

Here are some of our Christmas-related books.

book collection

Yes, I said some, not all. This is one reason I can’t buy more for a countdown! Some of our favorites seen above are (unless otherwise noted, the books listed are best for roughly age 4 through elementary-age):

  • Santa Claus, The World’s Number One Toy Expert, by Marla Frazee (so fun and cute! A favorite here.)
  • Moosletoe, by Margie Palatini and Henry Cole
  • The Gingerbread Pirates, by Kristin Kladstrup and Matt Tavares (highly recommended)
  • Arthur’s Christmas, by Marc Brown (classic; giving-focused)
  • The Witch’s Christmas, by Norman Bridwell (author of Clifford books; we love the Witch books)
  • The Best Christmas Pageant Ever, by Barbara Robinson (classic chapter book, best for about 2nd grade and up)
  • Diane Goode’s American Christmas (lovely collection of poems and short stories)
  • Merry Christmas, Ollie, by Olivier Dunrea (toddlers through early elementary; Ollie is my favorite of these goslings!)
  • The Family Christmas Treasury (pictured below; love this collection of some favorite characters’ Christmas stories; includes Curious George and others. Ours came with a CD of Christmas music too.)             family xmas treasury

I’m not even mentioning the favorites most of us know, like The Grinch and The Polar Express, and I’m not touching on Jesus books! Aah! Maybe next time I can get to that.

Have a wonderful Christmas season with your families, and read on!

2 thoughts on “A Free & Easy Christmas Book Countdown Idea

  1. Andrea December 4, 2015 / 4:53 pm

    Love this. I’m so on it

    Like

Leave a Reply

